Hunt County, TX, Obit

Submitted by Gena Forsyth

Cemeteries of Tx: Norm Mayfield


Greenville Herald Banner

Sim Owens Jr.

Wolfe City-Sim Francis Owens Jr., 76, of the Hickory Creek Community, died Wednesday at the Ryburn Nursing home in Dallas.

Services will be 2 p.m. today at the auditorium of Wolfe City Baptist Church with Bro. L.B. Morgan, Bro. Paul Lyons and Bro. James Ralston officiating. Burial will be in Mount Carmel Cemetery under the direction of R.W. Owens and Son Funeral Home of Wolfe City.

Mr. Owens was born Jan. 29, 1919 at the home of his grandfather, W.D. Cozby, south of Wolfe City. He was the eldest son of Sim F. and Laura Cozby Owens. A 1937 graduate of Wolfe City High School, he had lived in the Wolfe City areal all his life. He was retired from Henington Studio where he had worked for 40 years.

Mr. Owens was a member of the Hickory Creek Baptist Church for 58 years. He was also a member of the Excelsior Lodge 505 AF&AM.

A farmer and rancher, Mr. Owens devoted his later years to raising cattle. During the 1960s, he served on the board of trustees for the Wolfe City Independent School District, including two years as secretary.

Survivors include his wife of 56 years, Kathleen Butler Owens; a son and daughter-in-law, Dwight and Linda V. Owens of Carmel, Ind.; a daughter and son-in-law, Judith Gail and E.C. "Al" Lutrell of Jefferson; a son and daughter-in-law, Paul F. and Rosa Foster Owens of Mesquite; several grandchildren, Shari Stoll of Indianapolis, Ind., Michaela Gartrell of Wolfe City, Mark and Cindy Summers of Greenville, Cheri and Roy M. Dejole of Norman, Okla., Steven F. Owens of Mesquite; two great-granddaughters; two brothers, Billy Don Owens of Corpus Christi and Mead Owens of Denison; and one sister, Joan Eldridge of Celeste.

The family requests that memorial donations be made to the American Cancer Society or local hospice service.

Pallbearers will be Bobby Armstrong, Ray Perkins, Jimmy Felty, Sonny Watkins, Lefty Brent and Kenneth Thornton. Allen Thomason, Bob Felty, Joe Charles Henslee, Rueben Milton, Wayne McWhirter and Bernard Clayton will serve as honorary pallbearers.