Miller Grove Cemetery

Hopkins Co. Cemeteries of Tx

Submitted by Elaine Nall Bay

WF JOHNSON, II (Sulphur Springs News Telegram, December 1977)

WF Johnson, II of Miller Grove, died Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. at the home of a son in Miller Grove.

He was born in Miller Grove Nov. 27, 1899, the son of Walter F. and Lola Paschall Johnson. He was owner and operator of Walter Johnson's Phillips 66 station in Miller Grove.

Mr. Johnson was a member of the Miller Grove Presbyterian Church and at time of his death served as president of the Hopkins County school board. He also had served on Miller Grove School Board for a number of years.

He was married to Lillie Maw McGowan in 1919 at Miller Grove. She preceded him in death in 1974.

Survivors include a son, Freeman Johnson of Miller Grove; a brother Don Johnson of Miller Grove; five grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.

Funeral services will be conducted at 2 p.m. Saturday in the Miller Grove Presbyterian Church, with the Rev. Robert Ridley and the Rev. Carl Wallace officiating. Burial will be in the Miller Grove Cemetery under the direction of Tapp Funeral Home.

Pallbearers will be T. Crump, Lloyd Lennon, Paul Garmon, Lester Taylor, Ropy Herman, Harlan Craig, Sammy Taylor, and W.F. Johnson, IV.

Honorary pallbearers will be W.W. Jones, Jr.; W.A. Carothers, C.H. Marable, T.M. Pippin, James Waskom, C.L. Hall, Allen Sanders, Roy Holder, Howard S. Smith, Coy Johnson, Dr. Omer Kirkpatrick, Dr. Lester Hodges, Jeff Smith, W.S. Long, county school superintendent B.F. Chapman, and the Hopkins County school board.

The body will lie in state at the family residence in Miller Grove until time for services.