Ben Franklin Garden of Memories Cemetery

Delta County Cemeteries of TX

Photos by Gary Webb

Ben Franklin Methodist Church (just across the road from the Cemetery)
Address:    FM 38 and 128
City:   Ben Franklin
County: Delta
Year Marker Erected:    1966
Designations:   Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
Marker Location:
Marker Text:    Founded 1854 by reports of "local preachers" Dan Clower and
John B. Craig (former law partner of John B. Denton, for whom Denton County
was named). A circuit rider, Rev. Bennett Elkins, was named Dec. 5, 1854, to
serve Sulphur Forks Mission, including this church. Log walls, roof shingles
and rafters were cut in sawmill of a settler, Greenville Smith. Present
building was erected 800 yards from old site, 1898. RTHL - 1966

Anderson, Kenneth E.
Black, Delmer R. Sr.,
Black C. Erwin
Black, J. Carlock
Boss, Reuben E.
Bowen, William R.
Bowen A.M. (Sox)
Bramblett, Delbert A.
Branch, Ernie L.
Brewer, J. Wesley
Burgess, Floyd E.
Bush, Oscar J.
Caldwell, Cecil R.
Chaney, J. Pete
Clark, W. Boyett Jr.
Clark, W. Foster
Clark, Sam H.
Clark, W. J.
Edwards, George W.
Edwards, Sam H. Jr.
Flowers, W. Loyd
Foster, Bloys K.
Foster, M. Wages   Goletto, J. R. (Jim)
Grant, Carlton R.
Gross, Hiriam C.
Hadaway, Amos L.
Havens, W. Marcus
Hevron, Billy N.
Johnson, John W.
Kerbow, R. Allen
McEntire, Voughn M.
McJunkins, Jessie G.
Minnis, J. Morris
Moody, Buel L.
Moody, Roadell W.
Moon, Herbert (Chink)
Moore, Dan C. Sr.
Moore, Dan C. Jr.
Mora, Philomena
Moss, John F.

Edwards, Sam H. Jr., Apr. 30, 1896, Mar. 10, 1918, Co. D, Am. Tr. 183.